Eating / Lent

Homemade granola.. mmm mmm good!

When I was in Vancouver my sister-in-law made homemade granola. I like granola just as much as the next person, but I was unprepared for how much I would enjoy homemade granola. I am definitely hooked, so much so that the first thing I did when I got back to Toronto was make my own batch.IMG_8504

I’m using the same recipe as my sister-in-law – Big Cluster Maple Granola from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook. [Note: this is the same cookbook that contains my favorite maple bacon biscuits – yum!!!!]

I’m excited about having this around the house, both for snacks and for a quick and filling breakfast. It is also ‘lent friendly‘ as it uses maple syrup instead of sugar and I found natural dried fruit with no added sugar.

Not only is this granola super tasty, but it is also a cheaper and a healthier option to the stuff you can buy at the store. The recipe calls for oats, wheat germ, walnuts (but I used almonds), unsweetened coconut, olive oil, cinnamon, maple syrup, egg white, salt and dried fruit (I used turkish figs, cranberries and apricots). I ended up with about 8 to 10 cups of granola for a cost of less than $10. I encourage you to buy the cookbook or find your own granola recipe, you won’t regret it.

Homemade granola

Going into the oven.

Homemade granola

Done

Once you perfect your recipe, this would make a great hostess gift or stocking stuffer.

Leave a comment