Eating / Lent

Lent preparations

This year for lent (starting today) I am giving up smoking, sugar, fast food, delivery (except sushi and healthy options) and chips (but tortilla chips are allowed). I debated on giving up other things like TV, coffee or alcohol, but I just couldn’t do it. I am already giving up a lot and I felt strongly about leaving myself with a few vices otherwise I might go crazy.

The past few days knowing that lent was fast approaching I went a bit overboard on the treats. It doesn’t help that I’m in Vancouver on holidays, and happy to experiment and find new favorites.

Our adventure started with fancy donuts at Cartems Donuterie. I shared a whiskey bacon donut (on the right) and a maple wanut donut (on the left) with my sister in law.  The flavours of the whiskey bacon donut were super and between the two it was my favorite. I have to stay while they were really good, they weren’t amazing which is good otherwise I probably would have eaten 3 on my own.

photo(1)

At Coco et Olive on Main Street we tried the chocolate chip cookie and a strawberry bread pudding muffin. It was raining and we had 30 minutes to kill before any shops were open so we figured why not?!? Both treats were fresh from the oven and delicious.

photo 1(1)

photo 2(1)

Next on the list was ice cream from Rain or Shine Ice Cream in Kitsilano. This topped the list of amazingness, I think it was the best ice cream I have ever had. Based on the recommendation of my sister-in-law and the store owner I had the peanut butter ice cream. OMG it was delicious… peanuty, yet subtle and oh so creamy and smooth. I can’t wait to come back to Vancouver (not during lent) to eat more and try a few other flavours. Rain or Shine Ice Cream

To show that we weren’t totally gluttonous, we also hit the gym. Vacation and gym don’t always go hand in hand, but with all of the treats, it was kind of necessary.

photo 3

Leave a Reply

