Random Stuff / Running / Travel

A few of my favorite things…

Here is a list of a few of my {current} favorite things…

1) My cape and boots – It’s been awhile since I did much shopping but these are two of my favorite purchases from 2013.  The cape is vintage from the 50’s (purchased in Detroit at Lost & Found Vintage) and the boots are from Zara and surprisingly comfortable.

Zara Ankle BootsVintage 1950's Navy Blue Cape

2) I love scrabble! Finding people to play with is usually tricky, but recently I discovered a few closet scrabble lovers.

Scrabble Board

3) Wicker chairs. I found these chairs at the Antique Mall in Regina over the holidays. My grandparents used to have a pair just like them. If I could have figured a way to get them back to Toronto I would have. Still hoping I find them again one day.

IMG_7838

4) Detroit. I went to Detroit for the first time in November with friends and I loved every moment. As an urban planner my brain runs on overdrive when I think about the City. What crazy thing has to happen to make it truly functional again?  A few posts from my trip if you’re interested in more photos…. Detroit I LOVE You! & Detroit Graffiti.

Office building in downtown DetroitBlue house near the Heidelberg project in DetroitGrafiti inside the Abandoned Ford Packard Plant

5) The Scullery – an amazing coffee shop that recently opened in my neighbourhood. I love going on the weekends for a latte. It’s nice to have another option to Starbucks and Tim Horton’s.

Latte from the scullery cafe in Cabbagetown

One thought on “A few of my favorite things…

  1. The blue house is so cute – I much prefer quirky little places to great big ones and those chairs – how could you leave them behind!!
    If you want a scrabble partner my mum in law has always loved playing – she and her friends formed a Scrabble group once all aged between 75-85. Sadly she would be a poor player now as she is just turned 90 and suffering from Parkinsons and Dementia – life can be so cruel.
    PS the cape looks good on you.

Leave a Reply

