Life / Random Stuff

Exploring my hood

My new neighbourhood is in transition. This means people like me are moving into the area, property values are rising and slowly lower income men, women and families are being forced to leave.

I’m never really sure how I feel about this, probably a bit guilty, but I live here now and I never want to take the neighbourhood and all it’s faces for granted.

Today I walked down George Street for the first time in years. Anyone who knows the street will be glad to hear I did it in full daylight. I didn’t do it on purpose, but I like exploring the different side streets and I’m glad I did.

I was reminded today that a huge men’s homeless shelter – Seaton House calls George Street home. There were men all over the place, hanging out on the street and what I’m pretty sure was drug paraphernalia on the road. I just kept walking, taking it in, without trying to gawk at anyone. I in no way felt uncomfortable or in fear for my safety. That being said, I would and never will walk down this street at night.

What I took from today’s excursion was a reminder that not everyone has it as good as I do. I am very lucky in many ways and have so much to be thankful for. I need to remember this and be reminded of it more often. Everyday is a blessing no matter how easy or hard it may be. Remember to look for beauty at every turn and never forget to look inside yourself, it may be hiding, but it’s there.

20130730-205346.jpg

20130730-205355.jpg

Leave a Reply

