Eating / Life

The ceviche experiment

Saturday I had plans with my friend Malena to make dinner. We decided it would be fun to make the day of it – planning what to cook, buying groceries (yes, I was in charge of the list and left it at home – whoops), cooking and eating. We were both in an adventurous mood and decided to make Ceviche.

I am pretty sure that I have written before about my aversion to cooking fish. I LOVE eating fish and I WANT to cook it at home, but something always holds me back. I’m not sure why… maybe that I will over or under cook it… but that’s a pretty lame excuse. That being said, I think it’s pretty funny that my first foray into fish was Ceviche – raw seafood marinated in citrus juices.

If I was a better blogger, I would have taken a gazillion pictures of the step by step process. I took a few…. which will have to suffice.

limes

The plan was to follow a recipe, but after looking at a few we realized the recipes were all very basic and what we really needed to get a handle on was what type of fish to buy and how long to “cook” it so we didn’t make ourselves sick. We found a great online article that addressed all of this and more and ended up being all we needed to make the perfect ceviche (Huffington Post – common mistakes making ceviche).

I was surprised at how easy it was. Our only difficulty was deciding how long to let the fish “cook” for. One recipe said 4 hours another said overnight, but our trusty guide on common mistakes said no more than 15-20 minutes.  We went with 15-20 minutes and everything worked out perfectly. Turns out the longer the fish sits “cooking” the tougher it will get and at some point it will start to fall apart.

ceviche

Here is our make shift recipe

  • Sole, grouper and scallops (must be very fresh)
  • Enough lemon and lime juice (we used key limes) to fully submerge the fish
  • 1 jalapeno (seeded and finely diced)
  • 1 to 2 roma tomatoes
  • 1 avocado (added when serving)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 a cucumber
  • handful of fresh cilantro (to taste)
  • pinch of salt

Chop the tomatoes, avocado and cucumber into equal sized pieces and set aside. Finely chop the cilantro and jalapeno and set aside. Put the juice of the lemons and limes into a bowl. Cut the fish into equal bite sized pieces and place in the citrus juice for 15 to 20 minutes. Drain some of the juice from the fish and mix in the vegetables, cilantro, jalapeno and salt…..

Serve and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “The ceviche experiment

Leave a Reply

