Life / Mexico / Travel

What will the future bring?

I’ve been thinking a lot about my future lately. Last year was all about taking me out of my normal. This year I need to take it up a notch.

One of the things I want to do this year is think less, act more and be impulsive. By nature I am a practical person and I tend to over plan and over think everything. While a strength in my work life, it can hold me back in my personal life. Too often I have said no to things, or found excuses – like “I’m tired” or “the weather is complete shit”… excuses be gone!

My therapist, yes I have a therapist (I think everyone should have one, but that’s for another day), has suggested that I start a vision board. I think of it as my paper version of Pinterest or a throwback to grade 3 art class. I think its funny that while I am trying to be more impulsive, I still gravitate to the idea of having a plan for it – hahaha. Baby steps.

First step in more vs. less is a trip to Mexico. Normally I would have balked at the cost for a week away, or the idea of an all-inclusive resort, which isn’t normally what I go in for. I tend towards city vacations or off the beaten track beaches, but the idea of the sun, sand and heat in the middle of winter was too tempting. Stay tuned.

6 thoughts on “What will the future bring?

  1. I am sooo similar to you. Planning and organizing has always been something I feel handicapped without doing.

    We just have to put on a ‘Yes Man’ mentality. Live in the now – don’t stay locked up at home. Imagine how much you could experience and develop instead of staying at home watching TV or eating or whatever.

      • You just have to combat the laziness. For me, it’s the effort in putting in my contact lenses and doing my makeup.. which is ridiculous as this would only take like 10 minutes!!

        I’ve promised myself that I will be SO spontanious this trip, though. Doing things on the spur really does pay off in terms of personal growth and life experience.

  2. i feel ya. planning and extreme organization is crucial in my job, but not always the most fun thing in my personal life. i too have balked at the idea of an all inclusive, resort vacation, but the more i think about it, the better it sounds: drinking already-paid-for-drinks on a warm beach. lovely.

Leave a Reply

