Life

Thinking about the future

A few months ago I read an article in the New York Times magazine that I cant get out of my head. It was about watchmaking and how it is a dying craft, but one that is still in great need. The writer visited a school in Fort Worth, Texas, where new matchmakers are being trained.

I keep thinking and wondering if this is something I might want to do. I love the idea of a field that combines detail, precision and creativity.

Deciding to become a watchmaker, especially when it would mean a complete 180 from my current career in government, is a scary thought. It seems so far fetched and crazy. It would be a huge risk.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and I’ve realized that it’s not really about watchmaking, it’s those three things I mentioned earlier – detail, precision and creativity – that is what I need to focus on as i think about career options.

Last year I spent a lot of time trying new things and this year I want to focus on my future and thinking about a new career path, one that might make me happier. We all spend so much time in our jobs, that we should LOVE them. It’s a shame that many of us don’t enjoy our jobs, but do them anyway because the pay, vacation and benefits are generous. I need to look beyond this and think about what I want.

Wish me luck.

Here is a link to the article in case you are intrigued.

Leave a Reply

