Eating

My new favorite soup/stew

When I was in Vancouver a few weeks ago my sister-in-law (Hema)made a dish that I fell in love with.  It’s official name is Spicy Sausage, Escarole and White Bean Stew and the recipe can be found on the fine cooking website. Hema is braver than I am. Simply seeing the words Escarole would have scared me away…. I made the dish and still don’t know what it is!IMG_4966

Hema tip no. 1, you don’t need to use Escarole, just pick something green. In the past, Hema has experimented with swiss chard, spinach and kale to equal success. When she made it for me she used swiss chard, so that’s what I did. I also think swiss chard chopped is beautiful – the red and green colours compliment any dish.

Hema tip no. 2, add more vegetables. The recipe is simple, so if you feel like adding more vegetables, go for it. I can’t remember exactly what Hema did, but I am pretty sure that she added chopped celery and maybe a few other things.

Hema tip no. 3, if you don’t like spicy sausage or want to experiment with the meat, go for it. If you have little kids or are looking to reduce fat, try Turkey sausage.

Not only is the dish very tasty, but it is also simple and fast to make. If you follow the recipe it should only take about 20 minutes. I like to my stew a bit soupier, so I add more broth and let it cook longer on low heat.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

