Eating

I LOVE Cinnamon Buns

For as long as I can remember I have loved cinnamon buns. Around the age of 15 or 16 I figured that the easiest way to indulge this habit was to learn how to make them. I have been making cinnamon buns ever since.

I don’t make them often, because when I do, I can’t stop eating them. At the very least I make them once a year for Christmas morning.

When I was in Vancouver last week I thought it would be fun to make them with my niece. I think she loves cinnamon buns as much as I do.

I didn’t have my usual recipe with me, so I tried a new one on Alice and the Mock Turtle blog . The post was called ‘Truly the Best Cinnamon Rolls – Ever’ so I thought it was worth a try. The recipe did not disappoint.

You will notice that the recipe calls for a cream cheese glaze. I prefer cinnamon buns with a golden carmel goo on top – or pan coat as it is more professionally referred to. You can find the recipe below. I can’t be sure of the original source, but a church cookbook rings a bell.

The only good thing about getting on the plane on Monday was that I couldn’t eat anymore Cinnamon Buns, given the opportunity I would have continued to eat one every few hours until they were gone – not great for my waistline. But they were sooooo GOOD!!!!

1. Place the sliced rolls on top of the pancoat at let rise for about 1.5 to 2. You know when they are ready for the oven when the edges of the rolls touch
 
2. 15 minutes later at 400F the buns are ready to come out of the oven
3. Here’s where things get interesting. You need to flip the buns over so that the pancoat (goo) is on the top of the buns. I the cover and flip method. Find a baking sheet or plate larger than the pan and cover. Whatever you pick make sure it has an edge, if you pick something completely flat, you will find yourself will a sticky mess. Grab both sides with oven mitts and flip.
4. This is what it should look like when you are finished the flip. You can see the goo starting to drip down the sides of the buns – yum! 
5. Carefully lift off the hot pan.
Now EAT!!!!

Cinnamon Bun Pancoat – (Goo) Recipe

1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tbsp corn syrup
1/2 tsbp water

In a saucepan on medium low heat, put the butter, brown sugar and corn syrup, stir often to prevent burning. Add the water and let cook until it starts to boil, keep it on the heat for another 30 seconds until the whole top looks bubbly and golden brown.

Remove from the heat and pour the mixture into the bottom of a greased pan. If you like nuts or raisins on the top of your buns, add them to the pan of goo.

If I am making a big batch of buns, I will double the recipe.

2 thoughts on “I LOVE Cinnamon Buns

Leave a Reply

