Fitness / Life

Learning to tap

The other day I mentioned I had exciting news. Well here it is, I’m taking tap dance lessons. Woo hoo.

Ok, I know this probably doesn’t sound very exciting to anyone else, but oddly enough I’m super excited about it. I’ve never taken a dance class in my life and never ever dreamt of learning to tap, but when the opportunity presented itself I couldn’t get it out of my head. The more and more I thought about it, the more I knew I had to do it. So at the age of 32, I’ll be taking my first dance class.

The funny thing about all of this is that I’ve been mildly obsessed with the tap dancing episode of the Cosby Show for years. If you’ve seen it you’ll know why I refer to it as the “Challenge” espisode, it’s amazing. Bill Cosby somehow gets himself into a tap dance-off with Sandman Simms. If you haven’t seen it, you have to watch it, just click on the picture below.

I’ll be taking classes at City Dance Corps with Dianne Montgomery, who I hear is excellent. Lessons start this week and run until December. I’ll let you know how it all goes, fingers crossed that classes go well and that I don’t make a complete fool of myself.

3 thoughts on “Learning to tap

  1. City Dance Corps is a really good school. Say hi to Tina and Estelle for me if you get a chance to meet them.
    Dance classes are so much fun! I always believe that the world will be a much nicer place if people were into dancing. Can’t wait to hear more about your learning experience.

Leave a Reply

