Wedding

White, Antique, Ivory, Stark White, Champagne?

I did it, I went wedding dress shopping. Part of me hates to admit it, but it was actually really fun.

I’m not sure what I expected, but it all turned into a “make Adrienne feel great about herself” day. Everyone I crossed paths with was super positive, friendly and dead set on making me look amazing. Who could complain about that? I swear, if you are ever feeling down, glum or a bit blue, pretend you’re getting married and go wedding dress shopping.

The experience was also quite hilarious. A came across a few young brides who made me laugh.

So far I’ve been 2 places, Beckers and Cabaret Vintage, next on my list are Sash & Bustle and Vogue Sposa.

Here are a few tips if you’re going wedding dress shopping.

  1. Don’t judge your dress on whether or not it will make your groom cry. I swear, I’m not exaggerating I can across a young bride whose dress choice seemed to hinge on this unknown. Instead of the cry factor find something that makes you look awesome and is comfortable. Breathing, sitting and going to the bathroom by myself will be key factors in my choice.
  2. Pick a dress that suits the occasion. For example, don’t pick a strapless, satin mermaid ball gown with a lace up back and 4 foot train for a beach wedding. I am convinced that the girl who chose this doesnt actually know what a ‘beach’ is.
  3. Don’t judge a dress on how you will look in it if you lose 10 or 20 pounds. This goes back to the while comfort factor. One of the nice ladies at Beckers also informed me that the cost of alterations is based on the complexity of the seaming and not how much fabric needs to be removed. You will look amazing no matter what.

The dress hunt continues. Here’s hoping that I will come across a few other ‘funny’ brides. I have a few parties coming up and I need some new material to keep people thinking I’m ‘kind of funny’.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

