Random Stuff

The New Adventures of Adrienne

I was trying to come up with a catchy title for today’s blog post….. I am not sure I succeeded, but I wasn’t sure how to convey a boxing match and an arts festival into one title.

Since I’ve been home we’ve had 2 adventures.

First off, I went to my first boxing match. I’m still not sure what to make of it. In some ways it was really fun and exciting and in others it was horrible and hard to watch. The bigger the guys, the more gruesome the match. I just don’t think I’m cut out to watch grown men (large grown men) beat each other to a pulp. No matter who I started cheering for, I ended up cheering for the guy who lost of was the most beaten up. I’m always a sucker for an underdog.

The next adventure was definitely more up my alley. Last Friday we rented a car with friends to go to the Hamilton Supercrawl. First off, I LOVE Hamilton (a quick 40 minute drive away, and I truly believe my future home), secondly I love street festivals in the City of Hamilton!

We started the night at the Workers Arts & Heritage Museum to check out the opening reception for Broken City Lab’s new show – As of 2012 we are alive and well: four years in Windsor and beyond. I am a huge fan of Broken City Lab and I strongly encourage anyone in the area to go see the show and/or to check out their website. After the BCL show, we visited a few galleries, wandered the street and made a final pit stop for Chinese food before we drove back to Toronto.

I already miss Hamilton and can’t wait for our next visit.

Leave a Reply

