Florence / Italy / Travel / Uncategorized

I’m officially a student again

Italian school started today. Between my homestay, school and meeting new people I’m learning and practicing a lot of italian. I’m amazed at how comfortable I have gotten in Florence and speaking italian in such a short period of time. Now I just need to make sure I find lots of time to study.

The number of pictures I’m taking is starting to slow down, but here are a few from the past couple of days.

My favorite way to cool down on a hot day – find a outdoor patio and order an Aperol Spritz, or two.

20120730-222535.jpg
Piazza Della Signoria – a beautiful public square flanked in one end by the palazzo vechio and the Uffizi Gallery.

20120730-222626.jpg
Chiesa di San Miniato – I walked up a hill for about 15 minutes and it was well worth it. The church is amazing. I was even lucky enough to be there while
the monks were in the middle of their evening chant.

20120730-222647.jpg
Granita di Mandorla (almond granita) – sounds odd, but they are amazing. Refreshing and not too sweet. One of my new favorite treats in Italy.

20120730-222709.jpg
My first pizza in florence, not bad, also discovered that the trattoria sells Italian craft beer so I’ll be going again to check it out.

20120730-224146.jpg

Leave a Reply

