Eating / Florence / Italy / Travel

I think I ate tripe today

I’ve been reading that tripe is a customary dish of Florence. Reading about it is as far as I thought I’d go. I think i may have eaten some today by accident.

I was at a restaurant for lunch, a cute little place I read about called Osteria Dei Pazzi near Santa Croce. I ordered the Crostini Misti to start.

20120728-174953.jpg

The bread with white stuff is what I think was tripe. At first I thought it was melted cheese, but nope. While the taste was nice the texture was something in between a slice of prosciutto and grilled squid.

For my main I had Penne Bolognese. 20120728-175007.jpg
I don’t normally eat such large lunches, but when in Italy, eat like the Italians. I saved a tiny bit of room for dessert.

20120728-175850.jpg

Leave a Reply

