Books / Italy / Travel

A Massive List of Books

Between twitter, facebook, the blog and a few of my own ideas I have compiled a massive list of books to choose from. I am pretty excited to see many new authors on the list. I have also included and identified books that I have already read, just in case anyone else is looking for summer reading ideas.

I am really hoping to get to a bookstore this week so that I can start sorting through this list and narrowing down my options.

Here it is (in no particular order)

  • Birth House by Ami McKay (read this a few years back – excellent)
  • Brick Lane by Monica Ali
  • The Tigers Wife by Tea Obhret
  • The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  • Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter
  • The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani
  • White Tiger by Aravind Adiga (read this a few years back – also excellent)
  • Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides (loved this – see previous post for my thoughts)
  • Jane Eyre  by Charlotte Bronte
  • Arthur and George by Julian Barnes
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (this was a joke recommend – sadly, I’ve already read it… book club made me do it)
  • One Day by David Nicholls (a lovely little book)
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • The Space Between Us by Thrity Umrigar
  • Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
  • Restoration by Rose Tremain
  • Music by Rose Tremain
  • Silence by Rose Tremain
  • Shadow of the Wind, by by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (tried to read, but couldn’t get into it)
  • Any mystery by Magdalen Nabb (set in florence, very intriguing)
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgensten
  • Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green
  • The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Any book by Asa Larsson
  • Forgetfulness by Ward Just
  • Easter Island by Jennifer Vanderbes
  • The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach
  • Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (read it, but much preferred State of Wonder)
  • The Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner
  • Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson

A big thank you to everyone who made a suggestion.  More recommendations / suggestions always welcome.

5 thoughts on “A Massive List of Books

  1. I started to comment on how glad I am to see some titles I love on your list, only to realise that I recommended them, haha. I hope you can find these books! I’m more than halfway through The Night Circus and loving it. Another recommendation I can’t believe I forgot to mention is Sophie Kinsella… just try any of her books. They’re really light and fun. =D

    Also… during the weekend I hit the bookshop and bought 11/22/63 by Stephen King – I’ve heard such good things about it. I also bought The Hobbit by Tolkein; I always like reading books before watching their movie adaptations, and since the movie’s being released this year, I thought I’d get a head start!

    • I think I’ve read most of Sophie Kinsella’s books – she is one of my guilty pleasures. Might not be a bad idea to grab and reread it on the plane.

      Trying to get to a bookstore this week to start to go through the books on the list and see what really peaks my interest. Fingers crossed.

  2. Hope you have a good trip to Italy – wish I was going myself!!! We are having rain, rain and more rain here in England. I am not sure I am the right person to recommend a good book as I tend to read more non-fiction – perhaps I should send you my daughters Christmas book list – it is even longer than yours!! I know she enjoys many of those prize winning and book club recommended books like the Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenneger – (I watched the film and it was good). Everyone at work is rushing out to buy that new best seller of all time – I think it is called ’50 shades of Grey’ not sure it is classed as a ‘good book’ though more a raunchy good holiday read! Have a great time and hope you enjoy whatever books you choose in the end.

    • I will try to wish you some of our sun and heat and maybe you can send us some of your rain.

      A few of my favorite books are non-fiction, but I have a hard time finding new ones to read that really grab my interest. I’m curious to hear what a few of your favorites are.

      Everyone here is reading 50 Shades of Grey as well. I think I might check it out as it might be a good one to save for the beach.

  3. thanks for the sun – everyone here in England has almost forgotten what it looks like! In reply to your curiosity here are a few of my favourites books:

    Gift from the Sea – Anne Morrow Lindbergh – a tiny hardback book – I love how she likens life to a different shell.
    The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin – must reread this she has some great ideas
    The Guide – Dr William Holden – wish I had read this in my twenties when just starting out in life.
    The Decorated Journal – Gwen Diehn – I have always journalled and long to do a more creative one.
    The Intention Experiment – Lynne McTaggart – fascinating research
    Parisian Chic – Sophie Gachet – I should take more notice of this one – I need a serious makeover!!
    Not sure any of these suitable for holiday reading but I would recommend browsing them sometime – having said that I hardly ever recommend anything as everyone has their own likes and dislikes.

    Whatever you choose to read hope you have a great time and I am looking forward to reading all about your adventures. I expect you are pretty busy right now – I am missing your posts already.

Leave a Reply

