Books / Italy / Travel

Help! I am in desperate need for book ideas to take to Italy?

I leave for Italy in 21 days and I can’t figure out what to take with me to read. I am currently in a reading slump and I have nothing on my reading list. I need your help.

I will be away for close to 6 weeks and will be spending at least 1 week on the beach. Last year I took 3 books on our Italy / Turkey trip (only 3 weeks) so I figure I need to bring at least 5 books.

My strategy with trip books is to buy them used (if possible) so that I don’t feel guilty leaving them behind when I am finished. I usually buy a few things (clothes, souvenirs etc) when I am travelling and I find the extra room previously occupied by the books is a huge help.

I am hoping that a few of you are readers and can help me out with a suggestion or two. I will read almost anything – fiction, non-fiction, mystery, biography, historical and young adult fiction. The only genre that I am not crazy about is science fiction, but at this point, I am open to anything.

The only thing that I ask is that you’ve read the book or that it has come highly recommended to you by a friend. Oh and that is also available in paperback – I hate lugging around hard  covers at the best of times.

Thanks in advance.

2 thoughts on “Help! I am in desperate need for book ideas to take to Italy?

  1. Hmm. A few titles off the top of my head: The Night Circus by Erin Morgensten – Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green – The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – aaaand I don’t usually read sci-fi either, but recently I read Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone.

    Also have fun in Italy! You’re lucky to be going there! =D

    • You have totally piqued my interest with the sci-fi recommendation. I love books that can appeal to anyone no matter the genre – a good book is a good book.

      I keep hearing good things about The Night Circus – will definitely add it to the list along with your other recommendations.

      And thanks for the trip good wishes – I still can’t believe I’m going and that it’s only weeks away.

Leave a Reply

