Eating

Surviving a heat wave

Southern Ontario is in the middle of a heat wave and we don’t have air conditioning. Over the years I have developed a number of survival tactics to get me through these days/nights.

The easiest thing to do is spend as much time away from home as possible. This means trips to the mall, movie theatres, cafes, restaurants, friends houses, basically anywhere with air conditioning. No matter who you are, it’s hard to avoid home forever.

My favorite and probably most effective solution is what I call ‘ghetto air conditioning’. What is ‘ghetto air conditioning’ you ask – it’s a glass jar/container filled with ice. 

I know it sounds ridiculous, but it is a huge help at nighttime and also super cheap. When it gets really hot I go to sleep hugging this jar and it helps my core stay cool as I fall asleep. By the time the ice melts, I’m asleep.

Other things that help….  keeping the house closed up during the day, cold showers (lots of cold showers), trips to the local pool (once it opens), fans strategically placed around the house and wearing limited clothing.

I hope you are able to survive your next heat wave and if you don’t have air conditioning, make your very own ghetto air conditioning unit.

Leave a Reply

