Italy / Travel

Day 161 – Countdown to Italy

I leave for Italy in 40 days.

Everyone keeps asking me if I’m excited. Don’t get me wrong, I am, but it still feels so far away and like I have so much to do.

I was talking to a friend about this very topic last night and she asked me, “so what do you have to do?”.  The funny this is that after she asked, I couldn’t really think of anything.

I have all of the big things covered….

  • Vacation days booked
  • My flight is paid for
  • I  registered for Italian school and paid my deposit
  • I booked a hotel for my first 2 nights in Florence (before school starts)
  • I have some Euro pocket change
So my friend and I talked about it and together we came up with my new Travel To Do List… here it is.
  • Talk to my bank and change my plan so that I don’t get dinged on international ATM withdrawals (with my current plan I think I get charged at least $5 + / withdrawal)
  • Contact the bank and credit card companies to notify them that I’ll be out of the country for 6 weeks
  • Talk to my cell phone provider about my options for international service – at a minimum I’d like to be able to use text messaging
  • Strategically plan out my travel wardrobe for carry on only (with space for new purchases!!!)
  • Collect addresses for post cards (if you want one, send me your info)
  • Start a Florence must see/do list
  • Investigate health/travel insurance options
  • Find/ buy travel sizes of everything
  • Pick 1 or 2 books to take with me
  • Print off / photocopy my travel documents (in case of emergency) and leave them with a loved one
  • Study Italian and learn a new verb every day for the next 40 days before I leave
  • Buy a nice pair of sandals for everyday use that are both comfortable and fashionable
  • Buy more Euros

I’m sure this list will grow as I get closer to departure.

If you have any ideas or tips (for traveling or sites to add to my Florence list) let me know.

3 thoughts on “Day 161 – Countdown to Italy

  1. Adrienne, you should go to the dollar store and buy the travel size bottles (I think they are all regulation 100 ml) and fill with your favorite products so you can travel with just a carry on and don’t have to hunt for travel sizes of everything. Also, scan all your travel documents and email them to yourself. Oh also the dollar store has these big netted sacks for laundry that are super convenient and fold up small.

  2. If you have a smartphone:
    unblock it. You’ll have the freedom to use the same phone with a local phone number.
    OR
    download LINE app – you can text and call for free anywhere in the world but you’ll need (Wi-Fi or a data).
    Another app for getting around – City Maps 2Go, no need to use your data or Wi-Fi.
    By the way, we will be in Rome in August (first week)!

Leave a Reply

