Italy / The Blog

Day 142 – Delinquent blogger and Doors Open Toronto

Lately, I have become a delinquent blogger. When I set out on this quest I committed to posting 1 blog/day. For the most part I have done this, but lately I’ve been missing more posts that I would like to admit. For the next few months I am recommitting myself to write not only 1 blog post/day, but to write 1 interesting blog post/day.

“For the next few months” refers to the fact that I am leaving at the end of July to spend 6 weeks in Italy. I don’t know what my internet access will be like, so I am preparing you now for a reduced posting schedule. I hope that the posts I am able to write will be interesting enough to make up for their lack of frequency.

Now for some interesting stuff (I hope).

Today we were up early to head to Doors Open Toronto. Chris and Simon (aka DoUC) were commissioned to do an installation by Diaspora Dialogues in an old safety deposit vault at 1 King West. They opted to do a timeline of the history of currency. As per usual I heard a lot about the installation over the past few weeks, but I didn’t really know what to expect.

Here are some pictures.  I also posted a video on Vimeo that walks you through a bit of the installation. I didn’t realize at the time, but you can also hear Chris  explaining the exhibition to someone.

I am probably biased, but I loved it! It was interactive, fun, in a cool setting and I learned a lot. DoUC will be posting more pictures on their website in the next few days.

3 thoughts on “Day 142 – Delinquent blogger and Doors Open Toronto

  1. Good luck with the blogging – it is a real commitment to blog everyday – as I have found out! I am lucky at the moment if I get to post once a week. Love the instalation – wish I could go and see it but alas a journey too far!!

Leave a Reply

