Books

Day 130 – Picking book #2

My new book club met last week to discuss our first book – The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides.  Before the meeting I wasn’t sure how much I liked the book. I liked it, but I didn’t love it the way that I loved his 2nd book – Middlesex. I usually get drawn into a book through the characters, but with this book you don’t really get to know anyone. So the very element that made the Virgin Suicides interesting, was the very thing that kept me at a distance.

That being said, my opinion of the book changed significantly after book club. We ended up talking about the book for a good 2+ hours and by the end of it I had a whole new appreciation for the book and really how unique it was. If you haven’t read the Virgin Suicides, I would highly recommend it and and definitely read it with your book club.

At the end of the meeting we drew straws (well actually pieces of paper) to see who would host and pick the next book – it was me.

The first meeting and book went so well that I felt a bit of pressure to pick something that would be a good read and also generate good discussion. The idea of reading Lolita by Nabokov was tossed around, but I wasn’t sure it was the right book for me. Today after work I went to Chapters to look around. I read a few pages of Lolita and wasn’t sure that I could get into it. Seeing as I am the host of the next book, I need to make sure it is a book that I will read as I am supposed to lead the conversation.

Next I checked out a few books by Haruki Murakami. I keep seeing his books around and I’m intrigued by his new book 1Q84, but they also didn’t feel right for bookclub.

Then I started to think about Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, but I just read that a few months ago and don’t think I want to reread it so quickly…..  then it hit me…The Handmaid’s Tale. I am a big Margaret Atwood fan, especially of her 2 recent books.

I read The Handmaid’s Tale about 10 or 15 years ago. I remember liking it, but that’s it. Just to be sure, I picked up a copy and started reading it. It was nothing like I remembered, but now I am intrigued. So bookclub book #2 is the Handmaid’s Tale… fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

