Eating

Day 118 – pasta vs zucchini competition

Everywhere I look these days I see people substituting zucchini for pasta. I love zucchini, but I am a bit skeptical that it will taste better than pasta, even if the sauce is amazing. If I am going to be a hater or going to poo poo the idea then I need to test it out for myself.

Tonight I am doing a pitting pasta against zucchini to see who is the ultimate winner. As I type, my meat sauce is simmering on low, the zucchini is cut, the pecorino romano cheese is grated and I have a box of linguine on the ready. I am just waiting for Chris to arrive home to cook the pasta and zucchini.

I did a bit of investigating to find out how to cut and cook the zucchini. Most recipes tell you to cut the zucchini into thin even strips with a mandolin.  We don’t have one, so I used a knife instead. As for cooking time and method, it varies, some recipes tell you to fry the zucchini in oil and garlic for 2 minutes, others tell you to boil the zucchini for 1-2 minutes.

To make it a fair competition I will boil the zucchini just like I will boil the pasta.

** The Verdict **

I was skeptical, but wow, the zucchini version was delicious and it didn’t hurt that it looked amazing.

In the end I liked the zucchini with sauce better than the pasta version.  Zucchini with meat sauce ended up being the perfect pairing. I tried to eat everything on my plate, but after finishing the zucchini, I didn’t have a lot of room for pasta.

I gave Simon and Chris a bit of the zucchini (for taste) and even they had good things to say about it.

Now time to announce the winner… if you hadn’t already guessed…. ZUCCHINI WINS!!! I will definitely be making this meal again (sans pasta).

Strawberries for dessert and now I’m stuffed.

4 thoughts on “Day 118 – pasta vs zucchini competition

Leave a Reply

