Books

Day 112 – A new book

I started reading the Virgin Suicides today for book club. We meet in less than a week so I’m going to have to speed read this one. I wish I had more time to savour this book, but I kept forgetting to put it on hold at the library and only just picked up my copy today.

I love Jeffrey Eugenides. I think he’s an amazing writer – so I was pretty psyched when my new book club chose it for our first read. I only just started reading his books last year (2011). I started with the Marriage Plot, which I really like and then moved onto Middlesex, which I devoured and loved.

People tell me that the movie was really good, but I haven’t seen it and don’t think I will. I have a hard time enjoying movies based on books and I am a firm believer that the book is usually better. Movies rarely live up the pictures I’ve created in my head. Take the Hunger Games for instance, I loved the book and was very disappointed by the movie which I thought was dull and flat.

I’m only 10 pages into the book and I’m intrigued. So much has already happened that I can’t imagine how the story will unfold.

I have my fingers crossed that I will love this book even more than Middlesex, which is saying alot.

4 thoughts on “Day 112 – A new book

  1. I read the book after watching the movie countless times (one of my favs). Sophia Coppola did an incredible job… You must watch it! Curious to hear what you think of the movie after reading the book first

    • You are not the first person to say that I should watch the movie and that it was excellent. I am definitely warming up to the idea… although I might wait a month or two so that book isn’t as fresh in my memory.

Leave a Reply

