Books

Day 84 – Reading for book club

I am torn – do I write about the Federal Government eliminating the Canadian Penny (WHAT?!?!?!?) or the book I finished reading last night? This is a tough one.

I just found out about this penny business a few minutes ago and I’m reeling. People in my office assure me that it has been done before, something about Australia and rounding, but I can’t imagine a life without the penny.

Penny factoid – did you know that it costs the Canadian Mint 1.5 cents to make the penny? Ok, enough about this penny business.

Last night I finished my recent book club selection – State of Wonder by Ann Patchett. This is my second book by Patchett – last year my book club read Bel Canto. If you’ve read anything by Ann Patchett you know that her books start slow. I thought Bel Canto was painfully slow and I love slow books. State of Wonder was also a slow starter, but there was something that grabbed me from the beginning. The main character is a scientist which I thought was interesting.

The book really picks up a third of the way in and from that point in I couldn’t put it down. I was hooked. But then the ending came. Not to worry – no spoilers here – but I am still trying to decide what I think about the ending. The last 6 pages of the book threw me for a loop. I am left wondering if it is possible that the last few pages could alter by ‘like’ or ‘dislike’ of a book.

I am curious to see what my book club thinks about the book, especially the ending.

Overall a really good read. Check out my books page to see what else I have read in 2012.

Leave a Reply

