Running / Yoga

Day 75 – Running (to race or not to race)

I just completed my 4th run since Friday. This happens every spring, the weather gets nice and I start running. It usually continues for a month or two and then it gets too hot and I stop, or I get bored. I am hoping that this year will be different and that I can find a way to keep running until it gets cold.

Every so often I think about trying to run a 5km, 10km or 1/2 marathon – but it seems so far fetched. I follow a blog called Daily Nibbles, written by Sarah. [Sarah if you are reading this, I LOVE your blog!] One of things she has been writing about is training for the 2012 Vermont City Marathon. I get tired just reading about her training schedule. Lately, I am happy if I can do 3 yoga classes in a week.

As I am writing this, I am tempted to put ‘run a 10km race’ on my To Do List. I’m not sure what magic the ‘To Do List’ holds, but so far it has been pretty effective in getting me to do any number of things I previously procrastinated over or thought far fetched (e.g. take a leave from work to live in Italy for 6 weeks).

OK – I’m doing it. In the short time it has taken me to write this, I have somehow convinced myself that running a race is completely doable. If anyone has any advice I am eager to hear it. I don’t know the first thing about training for a race and could use some help on this one.

On an unrelated note, I bought a new bell for my bicycle today at lunch (another thing crossed off my To Do List).

Leave a Reply

