Italian Lessons / Italy

Day 72 – Exciting news (6 weeks in Italy)

I have exciting news – I am going to Italy for 6 weeks this summer.

I’ve been working on this for awhile and recently got approval for the time off – I am super excited.

This is not just a holiday, although I am pretty sure it will be amazing. I will be living in Florence for 3 weeks to study Italian and then on vacation with Chris. I figure, what better way learn Italian than to be immersed in it.

As I said, I’ve been working on this for awhile now, talking to Chris, my work and crunching the numbers to see much it might cost. This is not something that I would normally do, the idea of time off without pay would have scared me before, but this year is all about new opportunities and doing things that make me happy. I’m pretty sure, this is going to make me happy!

The idea first popped into my head a few months ago. I was browsing the Tutorino website (my Italian school) and found a link to the ABC Language School in Florence.  At first I didn’t think anything of it, other than that would be cool. But then one day at lunch it hit me, I want to do that, I want to study Italian in Florence.  It was totally out of the blue, but once the idea was there, I couldn’t get it out of head. I talked to Chris who thought it was a great idea, but everything hinged on getting approval from work. Work said yes which brings me to today.

Now I’m going full tilt into planning and getting ready to go, which includes saving money. About a month ago, when going was looking like a real possibility, I immediately put myself on a budget. This is going to be a once in a lifetime opportunity, but it will be expensive. Plane tickets, train tickets, school, an apartment, hotels, food etc will all cost a pretty penny + I still have to cover bills at home while I am gone.  No matter the sacrifices I have to make now I know it will all be worth it.

I’ve been doing pretty well on getting my discretionary spending in control, but now I need to tackle my grocery budget. I just have to remind myself that every penny I spend now, means less in Italy.

One thought on “Day 72 – Exciting news (6 weeks in Italy)

Leave a Reply

