Eating / Italian Lessons / Lent

Day 71 – The dinner

Dinner last night with my Italian school was so much fun – the food, people and conversation – everything was amazing.

20120316-180727.jpg

We were some of the first to arrive and were greeted by Massimo the chef who had Barese style focaccia waiting for us to sample – Molto Bene.

20120316-174934.jpg
Then a wild mushroom and arugula salad, salmon, Tuscan style bread salad and mozzarella wrapped prosciutto. Everything was bennisimo – but of course I had my favorites. The Salmon, Tuscan bread salad (chunks of bread, tomatoes, garlic, onions, cucumber and olive oil) and the prosciutto were my favorites. This was just the antipasti (appetizers) and while I know it sounds like a lot of food, everything was served on sharing plates. Rest assured I saved room for pasta, chicken and potatoes that followed.

20120316-175911.jpg
For dessert Massimo served cannoli and espresso. Sadly, I wasn’t able to have either because I gave up sugar and coffee for lent. I am eagerly waiting for the next cena (dinner) so that I can eat everything unrestricted.

I wish I had taken more pictures of the food, but I was having too much fun eating and practicing my Italian to remember.

Here are a few more pictures from the evening.

20120316-180630.jpg

20120316-180642.jpg

20120316-180651.jpg

20120316-180658.jpg

One thought on “Day 71 – The dinner

Leave a Reply

