Eating / Lent

Day 47 – Breakfast for Dinner

Today’s project – make pancakes for dinner

Today is Pancake Day, aka Shrove Tuesday, the day before Ash Wednesday and the start of lent. I’ve been doing/ practicising/ participating in??? lent for about 7 years now. For me lent is the time of year (40 days before Easter) when I get myself back on track, exercise self restraint and realize that I do have will power. This year I’m giving up refined sugar and I’m tossing around the idea of also giving up coffee. I can only imagine the withdrawal I will be in for the next few days, but it will be worth it.

But enough of that and back to the pancakes. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and I love any excuse to have breakfast for dinner. I think I inherit my pancakes for dinner skills from my dad. My dad used to make us pancakes when we were little and it was his turn to make dinner. I always loved pancake night. My dad’s cooking skills have gone gourmet since his pancake phase. He continues to impress me with his cooking and is willing to try anything including Lutefisk a traditional Norwegian disk that literally translates to lye fish.

Right now I’m debating between making simple Buttermilk Pancakes or Lemon Ricotta Pancakes. There is something appealing about the later and it would mean using the ricotta that I bought and never used for my big Ravioli experiment. I also toyed with the idea of making both recipes, but for 2 people that seems a bit ridiculous. Ok so I’m going to make…….

LEMON RICOTTA PANCAKES IT IS! I found a recipe that looks delicious on my favorite food blog – Smitten Kitchen.

The pancakes were a success. They were light, fluffy, delicious and not too sweet. To make it more like dinner we also had a salad. Now time to go watch my new favorite show ‘Breaking Bad’.

Leave a Reply

