Books

Day 20 – Reading

Today’s project – find a few minutes to read.

Today was a busy day at work followed by an acupuncture appointment, a talk at the Design Exchange and then helping DoUC set up their booth for IDS2012.

It’s 11pm, I just got home and all I want to do is go to bed and read.

Last night I started a new book, The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt.  I’m only 20 pages in and already I love it. I love the cover art, the layout and font and of course the writing. The book has been described as ‘a playful take on the classic western’.  It reminds me of another favorite – The Outlander by Gil Adamson (not to be confused by Outlander by Diana Giabaldon) and makes me want to re-watch Season One of Deadwood.

If you haven’t read The Sisters Brothers, or heard of it, I highly recommend you check it out. If my recommendation 20 pages in is not enough, know that it was a finalist for the 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award and Winner of the Rogers Writers Trust Fiction Prize.

Time for bed.

Leave a Reply

