Eating

Day 12 – Baking

Today’s project – bake.

I love to bake and have been trying new recipes since I was a little kid. I’m pretty sure I started because it was an easy way to satisfy my sweet tooth without having to buy something. Over the years I have developed a few specialties – chocolate chip cookies, cinnamon buns, brownies and any type of crisp (apple, peach, cherry, rhubarb).

I haven’t made anything in a while so I decided that tonight was the night to make an old  favorite – my grandma’s ‘Orange Current Self Saucing Pudding’ (more of a cake than a pudding).  This dish is the perfect winter treat.

Orange Currant Self-Saucing Pudding

Batter:

1/2 cup butter (room temp)

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1 egg

1 cup sifted flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup currants (raisins work too)

1/2 cup milk

Sauce:

1 cup light brown sugar

1 Tbsp butter

2 cup boiling water

2 -3 Tbsp frozen orange juice concentrate

Cream together butter and sugar.  Beat in egg and blend well. Mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Add alternatively with milk and beat well.  Stir in currants. Pour into a buttered 2 quart casserole dish.  To make the sauce sprinkle batter with brown sugar and dot with butter.  Mix organge juice and boiling water and pour over top.  Cook in a 325F oven for 1 hour.  Serve hot or cold.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

