Eating

Day 30 – Prep Day

Today’s project – prep for the big cooking day tomorrow.

First things first – cleaning – ugh!  I hate cleaning, but it must be done. It’s been a busy week, I’ve had plans 3 of the past 4 nights – so the pile of dishes in the sink and clothes on the bedroom floor have added up.

But then the real fun – grocery shopping.  I love grocery shopping. Most of the time I go to the grocery store and buy whatever strikes my fancy (which is the worse method for productive grocery shopping) but today I made a list. I tend to lose paper lists, so I use my iPhone instead.

I chose 2 dishes – I’m going to make pulled pork in the slow cooker and then french lentil soup.  Both recipes comes highly recommended, pulled pork from my sister-in-law and the french lentil soup via a blog that I like.

I went to my local grocery store first because its close but also because it’s cheap and has a butcher counter and yes, it sells pig ears and pig feet.

I was able to find almost everything on my list but because it’s a Portuguese grocery store, it can be hard to find ingredients that are staples at the big chains. I am still missing ground mustard, root beer, fresh thyme and smoked paprika. I will have to go to another store tonight or make a grocery run tomorrow.

Now that I’m home and the groceries are unpacked I’m getting excited to cook tomorrow.  ps – all of this talk of food is making me hungry.


Leave a Reply

